Fort Anne

Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia

The site of Fort Anne was first fortified in 1629 by the Scottish colonists who gave Nova Scotia ("New Scotland") its name. In the 1630s, the colony reverted to France and the French built the first of the site's four forts. The Vauban earthworks which can still be seen today were begun in 1702. Fort Anne's settlement, Port Royal, served as capital of Acadia until 1710, at which point the French fort fell to a British and New England force. The British installed a garrison and the Treaty of Utrecht confirmed their control over Acadia, again called Nova Scotia. War resumed in the 1740s, but three different French expeditions failed to retake the fort. Port Royal remained the capital of Nova Scotia until 1749. Fort Anne declined in importance after the fall of Quebec, although the garrison commander was charged with overseeing the Acadian deportation in 1755. The fort defended its settlement against privateers during the American Revolution and the War of 1812 and was garrison by the British until 1854. In 1917, Fort Anne became Canada's first administered National Historic Site. Today, visitors to the fort may see the museum, located in the renovated 1797 Officers' Quarters, and the Fort Anne Heritage Tapestry. The museum also features numerous artifacts which relate the history of the area for the past 400 years. There is also a walking trail around the perimeter of the old fort.

Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia B0S 1A0
(902) 532-2397 (during season) or (902) 532-2321 (off-season)
(902) 532-2232

Hours of Operation

Open daily year round. Hours: May 15 through June 30, 9:00a.m. to 5:00p.m.; July 1 through August 31, 9:00a.m. to 6:00p.m.; September 1 through October 15, 9:00a.m. to 5:30p.m.; October 16 through May 14, weekdays by appointment.

Fort Anne National Historic Site of Canada
Government of Nova Scotia--Tourism
Visitor Experiences

Fort on Site
Group Tours
Handicap Accessibility
Open Year Round
Visitors Center